Part II: An Allegory

Tuesday Musing of a Pastor – Part II: An Allegory
January 10, 2017

unnamed-10

NOTE: You may want to read Part I published last week before reading Part II. Follow this link for Part I.

Pastor Harold and Laila Bare

   Part II: An Allegory

The Groom stood tall and regal at the altar waiting for his Bride. The doors opened and the Bride entered.

His struggled for his face not to reveal his shock or disappointment or the inner struggle of his soul. Who was this woman coming down the aisle?  Where was the drop-dead gorgeous girl with a simple beauty that spoke of purity? Where was the girl of his dreams?

A low whistle came from one of the back pews. The bride did not look at the person who whistled, but her face registered pleasure at the attention.

The audience gasped in horror. Folks who had come from the community of her childhood were stunned that a bride would show up for a wedding in such party clothes, if they could be called clothes.

Who was this woman? Could it be the sweet and adorable girl who had been so pure, so gentle, so modest? Were they in the wrong place? But they could not be in the wrong place. The groom they knew. They were sure of his identity. But the appearance of the bride and her presentation were inconsistent with the person they had known.

The minister was aghast. He did not know what to do. He anxiously waited for the groom’s response.

The groom remained steady in his place.

The folks from the country began to shuffle with a dignified uncertainty.

The friends of the bride knew no decorum and were becoming more raucous by the moment. If they were at a party they would be the center of attention.

The bride hesitated. She looked right and left as if thinking – perhaps hesitating – but she moved steadily toward the altar where the groom waited.

“Who giveth this woman to be married?” the minister said.

A chorus of voices from the rear pews erupted in a discordant chant “We do…We do…
We do!!!”

There was silence.

The groom spoke.

“I grew up with you. We played together as children. You were so beautiful. I was a little older and knew that I loved you. You were the woman of my dreams. Four years of hellish war called me away to serve my country. I never looked at another woman to lust. I never put a pin-up above my locker. I stayed on base while others partied. I declined offers by women to entertain me. I saved my money to buy you a jeep. I bought you your first car. I sent you a diamond friendship ring. Every month I put money into an investment for our future.
I pledged my love and sent you an engagement ring. I wrote you love letters every day of the four years that I was in war.”

“You wrote fewer and fewer letters, and they became shorter. You said the right words, but they lost warmth and beauty. Yet I still believed that if I came for you I would find the girl of my dreams.”

“You were here. You lacked for nothing. You have imposed upon your body holes and tattoos to mar your beauty. You chose as your companions persons that are not of my choosing. You played. You partied. You come here today without your wedding dress. You did not prepare yourself, perfume and brush your hair.”

“I do not know you. You have marred your beauty and traded love for pleasure.  I came for a bride that I could take from this place with dignity and unreservedly give my love to for the rest of our lives.”

“You have come wanting my love, but not sure if you are willing to give up what you have found in the city.”

“I came for a bride that would be pure in heart and appearance. I was waiting for a bride in a wedding dress. I do not know you,” the groom said.

Stepping forward with the precision of a military officer he looked at the audience and said: “Ladies and Gentlemen, I apologize for your inconvenience. Please know that I will cover the cost of all foods and refreshments. What is left give to the poor.”

“There will be no wedding,” he said. “I will now take my exit and go to search for a bride of pure and undivided heart. It matters not if she is outwardly beautiful. It matters not whether she is rich or poor. It matters that she be pure and committed. I shall not rest until I have found such a bride!”

Thereupon the groom turned, expressed appreciation to the minister and exited by the chapel door.

Musing,
Pastor Bare
Jeremiah 17:9 The heart is deceitful above all things…”

Next week: An Allegory
Part III

Please respond to MusingsPastorbare@covenantchurch.net

Thank you for your notes of encouragement as I write the Musings.  If you find them helpful, please feel free to forward to friends and ministers.  No charge as long as you do not sell.
It is a joy to hear from you.

Harold L. Bare, Sr., Ph.D.

Senior Pastor, Covenant Church
www.covenantchurch.net
pastorbare@covenantchurch.net
(434) 953-9065

Leave a Reply

